Preview: Hitchcock Blogathon

As the new button at the bottom of the right column might indicate, I have recently been inducted into the Classic Movie Blog Association. The CMBA is a great group of bloggers who offer a wide variety of entertaining content pertaining to cinema of days gone by.

The group has planned an Alfred Hitchcock Blogathon for Jan. 17. Unbeknownst to me, a relatively new blogger, a blogathon only requires me to submit one entry on the subject and then link to the other participants. This did not seem like much of a challenge, so I have found a way to insert the “marathon” portion of the term into my participation. I have the day off from work, that being Martin Luther King Jr. Day, so I plan to spend from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. that day watching Hitchcock movies. Additionally, I will post a new Hitchcock movie entry every hour. Given that movies tend to run longer than one hour, I will obviously have some posts on the films I am actually enjoying and other “Cinematic Shorts” on Hitchcock flicks I know.

By my calculations, 12 hours of movie viewing only accounts for about six movies, so I will have to be choosy about which ones I watch. As you can tell from my Hitchcock Movie List, I’ve seen most of his work. I do not own all of it, but have a decent collection. Nevertheless, I would like some input from you about which movies you hope I would write about. This should give me plenty of time to Netflix any I do not have on hand. I have officially committed to a post on The Lady Vanishes, which might be my favorite British-made flick of his, but I am willing to watch anything you might suggest and is available on DVD.

If your answer is something other than what is on the poll below, please enter it in the comments portion of the post via the link at the bottom of the article. And feel free to vote for multiple movies or multiple times if you are really passionate about one in particular.

4 Responses

  1. What a fun idea! I’m lobbying for you to review the vastly underrated MARNIE. It somehow got a bad rep in the Hitchcock oeuvre and has only recently garnered supported as of one his masterpieces. In fact, I used to be one of its detractors. But after watching it again about a decade ago, I decided I liked it…and it’s gotten better with every viewing since.

  2. Quite an ambitious undertaking! I’m excited to read your marathon posts. I voted for my favorites, Rope and Notorious.

  3. I got a verbal request for “Lifeboat”, so one vote for that is hereby entered.

  4. Sounds brilliant mate! Count me in.

Leave a Reply

