Feature: Once Upon a Time at a Muse Concert

I wanted to throw in a quick note about how thrilled I was upon attending a Muse concert last night when the band, as their final encore, used the theme from Once Upon a Time in the West as a lead-in to Knights of Cydonia. The bass player busted out a harmonica and delivered a spot-on rendition later backed by guitar and drums. Apparently the band routinely does this with that song at concerts.

I love the Once Upon a Time in the West soundtrack–it has to be among the greatest movie scores in film history. The Man with a Harmonica theme is so creepy and memorable. I imagine I was among the few in the audience last night who understood the reference, but that’s only everyone else’s loss.

Here are some YouTube clips. Compare for yourself.

2 Responses

  1. So you were @ the Scott then? I couldnt make it, heard it was a great show.

  2. Just saw them in Newark and they did the same thing. Once Upon a Time in the West is one of my favorite movies, and to immediately recognize that they were using the “Harmonica” theme to inrto Knights of Cydonia, it was an even bigger treat. I’m sure that fact was lost on most in attendance, but it was awesome for me.

    Really well done!

Leave a Reply

